The Garioch Fiddlers – The Next Generation

Our latest CD is available at any of our events, or by contacting us from the website.

The Next Generation gives a fine mix of new tunes from the full orchestra as well as some from our junior section and 2 guest artistes.

Priced at £10 each, it is great value to keep your toes tapping until the next rally.

Garioch Fiddlers Practise

Happy New Year All!

Hope to see all of our members at the KA tonight, usual times,
6.30pm Juniors
7.30pm Seniors
for the first practice of the year.
Hope to see you there!

Junior Competition March 2nd 2020

This year’s Garioch Fiddlers Annual Competition was held on Monday 2nd March 2020 in the Kintore Arms Hotel Inverurie, where the entrants were welcomed by Garioch Fiddlers Committee member Finlay Morse. The judge for the evening was Barbara Coutts who was impressed by the standard of fiddle playing throughout the night. Finlay gave the introductions and Orchestra Leader Neil Hehir accompanied the competitors on the piano. The evening was attended by Garioch Fiddlers senior orchestra members and family and friends of the competitors.


1st      Emma Cameron  

2nd     Hannah Farquhar

3rd     Chloe Gordon


1st      Emma Cameron

2nd     Chloe Barber

3rd equal  Jessica Thomson and Rhona Fraser

Hannah Farquhar won the Bert Morgan Cup for Best Slow Air.

Emma Cameron also won the George Smith Trophy for best competitor, entering their first Garioch Fiddlers’ junior competition.

All entrants can be heard playing live as part of the Garioch Fiddlers Annual Rally to be held on Saturday 18th April 2020, in Inverurie Town Hall where the winners will also be presented with their trophies.

Garioch Fiddlers at Pennan August 18th 2018

Looking along towards the hall

An early concert in a great setting, Pennan village Hall. Playing background music during a meal and dance music afterwards.

Dance tuition before the music

Cramped conditions for the band

Garioch Fiddlers at Fyvie Castle on Sunday 20th May 2018

The music room in Fyvie Castle is a special playing venue. Excellent acoustics keep the music focussed despite the distraction of the historic surroundings.

Susan conducting.


Mark testing the microphone.

Thanks for the photos provided by Bill Sinclair

Garioch Fiddlers Rally 2018

Garioch Fiddlers Rally 2018

The Garioch Fiddlers Strathspey and Reel Society’s 35thFiddlers Rally under the conductorship of Susan Simpson was held in Inverurie Town Hall on Saturday 21 April.  The near capacity audience clearly enjoyed the evening’s Scottish entertainment.

Juniors and Seniors playing at 2018 Garioch Fiddlers Rally

Compere was the ever-popular Colin Dempster who as always enjoys a great rapport with the local audience.

Guest artiste for the evening was Iona Fyfe who was accompanied by Luc MacNally on guitar and showed why she has won accolades over the world with a selection of interesting ballads which intrigued the audience. Close to her Huntly roots, her best song was the “Banks of Inverurie” and her adaptation of June Imray’s “Quine who did the strip at Inverurie” amused all despite being questionable to strict Inverurie historians.

After welcoming the audience whom he thanked for their continued support over the years, Jerry Morse the Chairman, welcomed guest musicians from both neighbouring societies and as far away as the Netherlands to the orchestra along with guest players Kirsty Livingston on bass and Colin Burgess on drums.  He then introduced both Neil Hehir, the leader of the orchestra, and then musical director Susan Simpson to the stage who proceeded to set the mood for the rest of the evening by conducting a set of Marches, followed by a waltz composed for pianist Yvone Crighton by prolific local composer Ian Thow. This year’s novelty item was entitled “The Royal Wedding” which was enjoyed with great fun by both orchestra and the audience.

The winners of the yearly competitions for younger members of the Society were presented with their awards by Nicola Tierney. From the junior section (under the age of 15), the Alex Garden Memorial Trophy for best overall performance was won by Jessica Thomson whilst Rhona Fraser was awarded the Bert Morgan Cup for the best slow air, with the George Smith trophy for best first time entrant being won by Hannah Farquhar.

The winner of the title “Garioch Young Fiddler of the Year 2018” and the Bill Johnston Memorial trophy was won for the third year running by Finlay Morse who played his winning selection accompanied by Alexander Davidson with a standard of playing showing why he was selected to spend his Saturdays playing in Glasgow at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

As usual, the second half was opened by the Junior Section who have been extremely well schooled under Alexander Davidson standing in for Nicola Tierney, whilst she has been on maternity leave this year. The junior fiddlers finished their performance with the premier of a new tune composed by Alexander entitled “Junior Garioch Fiddlers Welcome to Isabella Tierney”. As always this was very much appreciated by the audience and by proud mother Nicola who heard the piece for the first time.

The final selection including traditional Scottish songs, with Lynn Sinclair, Colin Dempster and Jo McDowall at the microphone, was followed by piper and a former “Young Fiddler of the Year’ Kenneth MacBeath, playing the Rose of Kelvingrove, forcing the reluctant fiddlers to play in three flats. In a new and welcome initiative, the final set combined the Senior Orchestra and the Junior section playing  a set of reels which rounded off an absolutely fantastic evening.

At the end of such a busy and rousing evening’s entertainment the audience joined in enthusiastically to sing “Auld Lang Syne”

and departed in very good spirits, looking forward already to the 36thAnnual Fiddlers Rally. Can it really be better than that of 2018?

Junior Fiddlers Competition 2018

🎉Congratulations to all who took part in Monday’s competition! 🎉


Everyone played fantastically well – this years winners are:

The Alex Garden Memorial Trophy for overall winner: Jessica Thomson 🏆

The Bert Morgan Cup for best slow air: Rhona Fraser 🏆

The George Smith Trophy for best first time entrant: Hannah Farquhar 🏆

The Bill Johnston Memorial Trophy: Finlay Morse 🏆

Thanks to James Alexander for his adjudication, Nicola Tierney for the introductions, and all at the Garioch Fiddlers for their help.